If you’re traveling to, from, or within the state of Minnesota, you need to make sure you comply with the paperwork that’s required of you by the DMV. Before you can properly settle in as a citizen, you need to get your Minnesota DMV change of address forms in order.
This process includes securing your driver’s license address and, if necessary, an upgrade on your vehicle’s registration papers.
It’s best if you get all of your paperwork in order as soon as possible, especially if you plan on driving in the state or applying for jobs. The first goal would be to ensure your residency in Minnesota.
In order to find out if you’re officially considered a resident of the state, you need to go to complete your change of address at the DMV within two months, or 60 days before you establish your residency. You should ensure your own residency in the state if:
- You’re planning to live in the state for at least six months every year
- You’re planning to vote in the state after registration
- You intend to work, run a business or go to school in the state
In order to get the prior matter in order, we’ve compiled all the details that you need to complete the requirements for your change of address and vehicle registration at the Minnesota DMV. You can then head over to the nearest service provider for Drivers and Vehicles in Minnesota.
From Another State to Minnesota
If you’re moving to settle or stay in Minnesota from a different state, you will need to get a new driver’s license. You may be exempted from this requirement if you are currently a student whose transfer to Minnesota is not permanent. Active U.S. military member and their dependents are also no longer required to apply for a new license.
Also take note that if your name on the valid identification forms you presented fails to match with any document, you need to support it with another valid document, like a legal name change certification. This can be in the form of a court order proving the name change, renewed birth certificate, divorce decree, or a marriage license.
If you need to learn more about the required documents for your transfer, or if you’re wondering which of your paperwork is considered primary or secondary, check it here.
The cost of your Minnesota driver’s license is roughly $32.00, or you can check the page for more payment and fee details.
You will also be required to undergo and pass a couple of tests before the issuance of your new driver’s license. First, you need to pass a theoretical examination about the driving laws, rules, and regulations in the state of Minnesota. You can make use of this manual to serve as your study guide.
You will also need to take a vision test to ensure that you can see the road clearly and navigate it properly. In addition to this, if your current driver’s license was expired for more than a year, you will also be required to take a road test to test your driving skills.
That said, you will also need to register the vehicle you’re taking into Minnesota from out of state. This re-updating of the registration must be done within 2 months or 60 days of your established residency. Here are the documents and paperwork you will need for the process:
- Valid IDs, current driver’s license, or other official forms of identification
- The vehicle title or registration card of your current vehicle.
- An odometer reading of your current vehicle
- Your vehicle’s current lien holders names and addresses